Areas of Practice – DWI/DUI
Arrested for DWI/DUI?
Please CALL ME NOW . . . I am trained to help. I'm a Texas Board Certified defense attorney and available to protect your rights to a strong defense in both criminal court and before the Department of Public Safety driver's license hearings.
TIME LIMITS APPLY!
If you've been arrested for drunk driving, DWI, intoxication assault, intoxication manslaughter, or DUI CONTACT MY FIRM. Important time limits apply in DWI, DUI, and other alcohol-related cases. It's important you contact us quickly to begin your defense. In Texas, you have only 15 days following an arrest to request a hearing to save your driver's license.
DUI: Driving Under the Influence.
DUI is a zero-tolerance law in Texas that prohibits drivers under 21 years old from having any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. Police officers in Bryan|College Station are very aggressive in charging college students for this type of offense.
DWI: Driving While Intoxicated.
DWI is a Texas law prohibiting any driver from operating a motor vehicle when they have lost the normal use of their mental or physical faculties, or by having a legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. Drivers can also be charged with DWI by the introduction of drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs, into their system. The police typically use a series of field sobriety tests (FSTs) to develop probable cause to arrest for DWI in addition to asking persons to submit to a breath or blood test. Here again, the police in Bryan|College Station have developed a "take no prisoners" attitude toward charging college students with this very serious misdemeanor offense. Call Us Now if you've been arrested.
ALR: Administrative License Revocation.
In addition to the criminal charges faced by those arrested for DUI or DWI, the arrest starts an administrative procedure called Administrative License Revocation or ALR. An ALR driver's license suspension is automatic unless you request a hearing to challenge the suspension, in writing, within 15 days after receiving notice of the suspension. If a hearing is not requested the suspension automatically begins on the 41st day after notice was received. If a hearing is requested, no action will be taken regarding a suspension until after the hearing. We request an ALR hearing on your behalf and represent you in the hearing if you hire the firm prior to the 15 day deadline.
Defending Bryan | College Station DWI Charges
Many people wrongly assume if they blow "above-the-limit" on the breath test they are as good as convicted of drunk driving. However, that is not necessarily the case. My team will investigate all possibilities in defending your case including circumstances under which breath test results can be challenged. I'll help determine if you were legally stopped, whether sobriety tests were administered properly, and whether any chemical test can be used as evidence against you. I've written extensively on the Bryan|College Station Criminal Defense Blog about attacking the Intoxilyzer 5000 machine used to obtain breath alcohol concentrations from persons arrested for DWI. I'm experienced and prepared to fight against all chemical tests used to incriminate you.
Other Alcohol-Related Offenses
In addition to DWI/DUI offenses, my Firm is experienced in representing clients with a variety of other alcohol-related charges including minor in possession (MIP), public intoxication (PI), making alcohol available to a minor, and open container charges. We represent clients needing assistance with under-aged drinking, driver's license suspensions, motor vehicle assault, CDL defense, and intoxication manslaughter charges.
Related Resource Articles: