- 2246 Views
- 0 Comments
- in Bryan College Station DWI
- by Stephen Gustitis
The following information may be helpful for those accused of an alcohol related or DWI offense:
DUI means Driving Under the Influence and is only for persons under 21 with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
A DUI charge is only for detectable amounts of alcohol – it does not mean the person is intoxicated.
DWI means Driving While Intoxicated and is defined as having a blood alcohol content .08 or over.
DWI also means having lost the normal use of a person’s physical faculties or mental faculties.
Making alcohol available to a minor means anyone buying or providing alcohol to someone under 21.
Open Container – if there was an open container of alcohol in the car, a fine not to exceed $500 may be imposed.
MIP (Minor in Possession of Alcohol) is a class C misdemeanor. Maximum fine is $500. A conviction results in a driver’s license suspension while subsequent convictions can be prosecuted as more serious misdemeanor offenses, which involve possible jail time.
MIC (Minor in Consumption of Alcohol) is a class C misdemeanor, as well. The maximum fine is $500. A conviction results in a driver’s license suspension, like MIP.
1st offense DWI conviction for an individual under 21 years of age will result in a one year driver’s license suspension in addition to any other penalty imposed.
2nd and 3rd time DWI offenses carry much more substantial fines, penalties, and potential jail time.
Lastly, a conviction for any DWI also carries the imposition of a driver’s license surcharge by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Stephen Gustitis is a criminal defense lawyer in Bryan-College Station. He is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He is also a husband, father, and retired amateur bicycle racer.